Where We Work

We work in 53 countries and have 21 offices and field operation sites around the world. CIAT has a total of 968 staff, including 521 professionals, of whom 376 are scientists. 779 are based in Colombia or elsewhere in Latin America and the Caribbean, while 154 are in sub-Saharan Africa, 32 in Asia, 2 in the USA, and 1 in Europe. In many of these countries, we work through the Pan-Africa Bean Research Alliance (PABRA) in Africa, HarvestPlus in Africa, Asia and Latin America, and the Fondo Latinoamericano para arroz de riego (FLAR) in Latin America.


Countries:

Africa

Angola

Burkina Faso

Burundi

Cameroon

Central African Republic

DR Congo

Ethiopia

Ghana

Guinea

Kenya

Lesotho

Madagascar

Malawi

Mali

Mauritius

Mozambique

Rwanda

Senegal

Sierra Leone

South Africa

South Sudan

Sudan

Swaziland

Tanzania

Togo

Uganda

Zimbabwe

Zambia

Latin America and the Caribbean

Argentina

Bolivia

Brazil

Chile

Colombia

Costa Rica

Ecuador

El Salvador

Guatemala

Haiti

Honduras

Mexico

Nicaragua

Panama

Peru

Uruguay

Venezuela

 

Asia

Myanmar

Cambodia

China

Indonesia

Lao PDR

Philippines

Thailand

Vietnam

Offices and field operation sites

Americas

Colombia

Headquarters and Regional Office for Latin America and
the Caribbean

Km 17, Recta Cali–Palmira
Apartado Aéreo 6713
Cali, Colombia
Phone: +57 2 4450000
Fax: +57 2 4450073
General e-mail: ciat@cgiar.org


Bogotá

c/o MADR
Carrera 8 #12 B-31
Piso 5, Edificio Bancolombia
Bogotá, Colombia
Phone: +57 1 3410490 or +57 320 6951661 (mobile)
Fax: +57 1 3376383


Malambo

Calle 13 #27-29, Urbanización El Concorde
Malambo, Atlántico, Colombia
Phone: +57 5 3762930 or +57 311 6853533 (mobile)
Contact: Jorge Iván Lenis
E-mail: j.lenis@cgiar.org

 

Popayán
Km 8, Vía La Tetilla, Vereda Santa Rosa
Popayán, Colombia
Mobile phone: +57 316 2310291
Contact: José Hernán Puliche
E-mail: jhpuliche315@hotmail.com

 

Santander de Quilichao
Km 8, Vía San Julián, Vereda Chirivico
Santander de Quilichao, Colombia
Mobile phones: +57 315 2437966 or +57 310 4146762
Contact: Jorge Ariel Hurtado
E-mail: jorgehurtadociat@hotmail.com

 

Villavicencio
Km 17, Vía Puerto López
Vereda Santa Rosa
Villavicencio, Colombia
Mobile phones: +57 315 4111920 or +57 310 8921233
Contact: Jaime Gómez
E-mail: j.a.gomez@cgiar.org

Nicaragua

Subregional Office for Central America
Planes de Altamira, de Pizza Hut Villa Fontana 1 cuadra al oeste
Edificio CAR III, 4to. Piso
Apartado Postal LM-172
Managua, Nicaragua
Phone: +505 2 2993011 / 22993056
Contact: María Eugenia Baltodano
E-mail: m.e.baltodano@cgiar.org

Peru

c/o International Potato Center (CIP)
Avenida La Molina 1895, La Molina
Apartado Postal 1558,
Lima, Peru
Phone: +511 3496017
Contact: Wendy Francesconi
E-mail: w.francesconi@cgiar.org

USA

CIAT-Miami
7343 NW 79th Terrace
Medley, FL 33166, USA
Phone: (1)305-7671863
Cellphone # 305-439-4369
Contact: Hugo Cerna
E-mail: h.cerna@cgiar.org


Africa

Kenya

Regional Office for Africa
c/o ICIPE – International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology
Duduville Campus Off Kasarani Road
P.O. Box 823-00621
Nairobi, Kenya
Teléfono: +254 20 8632800, +254 721574967, +254 719052800
Fax: +254 20 8632001
Contacto: Debisi Araba, Director Regional
Correo electrónico: d.araba@cgiar.org

 

Maseno

c/o KEFRI Maseno
Kisumu Busia Road
P.O. Box 93-40101
Maseno, Kenya
Phone: +254 711 895425
Contact: John Mukalama
E-mail: j.mukalama@cgiar.org

Democratic Republic of the Congo (DR Congo)

c/o IITA Site Kalambo, Université Catholique de Bukavu (UCB),
Route KAVUMU, km 18, bifurcation Birava
B.P. 1860
Bukavu Sud-Kivu, RD Congo
Phone: +243 6 998 681269
Contact: Antoine Kanyenga Lubobo
E-mail: a.k.lubobo@cgiar.org

Ethiopia

c/o International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI)
Box 5689
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Phone: +251 116172386
Contact: Lulseged T. Desta
E-mail: lt.desta@cgiar.org

Malawi

Chitedze Research Station
Mchinji Road
P.O. Box 158
Lilongwe, Malawi
Phone/fax: +265 1707387 / 1707146
Mobile phone: +265 991 913583
Contact: Rowland Chirwa
E-mail: r.chirwa@cgiar.org

Rwanda

KG 563 ST, Solace Way
P.O. Box 1269, Kacyiru
Kigali, Rwanda
Phone: +250 788 313 997 / +250 788 303 428
Contact: Joseph Mulambu
E-mail: j.mulambu@cgiar.org

Tanzania

c/o Selian Agricultural Research Institute (SARI)
Dodoma Road
P.O. Box 2704
Arusha, Tanzania
Phone: +255 732 979909
Mobile: +255 769 539470 or+255 784 725470
Contact: Jean-Claude Rubyogo
E-mail: j.c.rubyogo@cgiar.org

Uganda

c/o NARO, Kawanda Agricultural Research Institute
13 Km Gulu Road
P.O. Box 6247
Kampala, Uganda
Phone: +256 414 566 415 / +256 774 884 041
Contact: Clare Mukankusi
E-mail: c.mukankusi@cgiar.org

Zimbabwe

12.5 km Peg Mazowe Road
P.O. Box MP228
Mt. Pleasant Harare, Zimbabwe
Phone: +263 4 2906606
Mobile phone: +263 (0) 772572725


Asia

Vietnam

Regional Office for Asia
c/o Agricultural Genetics Institute
Km2, Pham Van Dong Street, Bac Tu Liem District, Hanoi, VIetnam
Phone: +844 37576969/+844 3757 0999
Fax: +844 37570999
Contact: Dindo Campilan, Regional Director
E-mail: d.campilan@cgiar.org

Lao People’s Democratic Republic (Lao PDR)

c/o NAFRI Compound
Ban Nongviengkham, Dong Dok
P.O. Box 783
Vientiane, Lao PDR
Phone: +856 21 770090-1
Contact: Chantana Douangsavanh
E-mail: c.douangsavanh@cgiar.org